How can you make your band better?

Discussion in 'Band Management [BG]' started by Twobass, Feb 27, 2014.

1. Twobass

Twobass

I'm going to be honest, the band that I'm in is not very good. We could be good but the band lacks focus. We practice once a week for about 3 hours. Now you would think we would be good practicing that long, but that's just not the case. When playing gigs we have long pauses between songs and in some cases the guitar players don't know who starts a song.

We just come across as amateurs, and I'm no professional by any means but I do take it serious. I just want to band to get better and that hasn't been the case.

My question is how can this band get better? We are a cover band.
  2. SirMjac28

SirMjac28 Patiently Waiting For The Next British Invasion Gold Supporting Member

Unless everyone shares your views it won't happen it's time for you to leave and find others who share your vision.
  3. itchyfingers

itchyfingers

There is seriously no excuse for tribute/cover band members to not have their sh!t together. Everyone has the original music to practice, everyone should be working on their parts in their own time. The only thing that full band practice should entail is rehearsing the set, working on problematic parts, and agreeing upon endings to songs that fade out on the recording.

With the limited info at hand, I'd guess that your bandmates are NOT practicing on their own, and only working on material once a week for three hours when you all get together. If that's the case, you will not get any better and probably need to pull together more practices per week OR get some more focused bandmates. :D
  4. DiabolusInMusic

DiabolusInMusic Functionless Art is Merely Tolerated Vandalism Supporting Member