HOW DID YOU LEARN?

Discussion in 'Miscellaneous [BG]' started by ChessTiger, Nov 8, 2012.

1. ChessTiger

ChessTiger

Greetings fellow bass men\women;
    I would like to know how each person learned to play bass. Some have a natural music gift. Others (ie...me) have to learn by other means and some are self taught.

My daughter started teaching her self guitar (she is in the natural talent group). My son got bit by the bug and wanted to learn to play. So, he started with guitar lessons. He got bit by the bass bug and wanted to learn bass also. He talked me into taking lessons with him. So...I purchased us both bass guitars and here we are taking lessons together :hyper: And the good times are rolling.

If you would; share with us how the bass bug bit you and how you learned to play.
  2. Crater

Crater

I started out on electric guitar, and after playing for several years I bought an inexpensive used bass to play around with. It was great fun and I found I really liked playing bass, but continued to play guitar in bands.

A couple of years ago I was asked to join a friend's band on bass. So I decided to get serious and take lessons. I have to say, the lessons were extremely helpful. I would really recommend lessons if one can afford it and if there's a good instructor in your area. Having someone help with hand position, finger picking, ect...those are things a book or instructional DVD can't do.
  3. stingray69

stingray69 Talkbass Legit Supporting Member

I was 15yo & some childhood/highschool friends wanted to start a band - since guitar & drums were already taken, I was handed a bass & informed that I was the bass player, lol. It didn't matter to them that I had never played a day in my life at that point.