How do I choose a firearm?

Discussion in 'Off Topic [BG]' started by Monster Truck, Jan 24, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Monster Truck

Monster Truck groove student Supporting Member

So I've decided to buy a gun while I still can. I will do this legally and take safety/training classes ASAP. My brother and I are going gun shopping next week, but I have no idea what I should be looking for. I have fired guns before, but I never got real passionate about them. I'm not really into hunting, but that doesn't mean I've ruled out rifles or shotguns. This will be used only for personal protection. It seems there are a fair amount of gun enthusiasts on TBOT, so I'm hoping you guys can help me out before I deal with some slick talking salesman. So help me out, ask me questions, give your opinion, I'm a total noob.

I have $800 to spend on 2 guns, on for me and one for my brother.

And, please, let's not turn this into a political debate.

2. Musiclogic

Musiclogic

Disclosures:
    Owner/Builder: HJC Customs USA, The Cool Lute, C G O
    8 bills is going to be a little tight, but you should be fine. If you are looking at handguns, probably your best personal protection choice, you can get into a pair of Smith and Wesson Sigma 9mm or 40 cals in your price range. The 40 SDVE HC is the top line sigma and comes with a laser sight which can help novices with target acquisition. Also can look to imports which can be had for less money. You could get into Smith or Ruger used 9's in your budget also.

3. Lonesomedave

Lonesomedave

much like basses...go to a number of shops and look to buying used.

[​IMG]

4. steamthief

steamthief

If you're shopping for a pistol, I'd go to a range and shoot as many different rentals as you can. Just as certain basses feel right while others don't, the same principle applies to guns.

5. Register to disable this ad
  6. Monster Truck