How do i choose the right bass?

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by Kaspergreenday, Dec 28, 2012.

1. Kaspergreenday

Kaspergreenday

Hi TalkBass! :bassist:

I have been playing bass for about 4-5 years now, and i am still playing on my humble Fender precision (mexican) bass. I have waited for the right time to buy a new bass, which is gonna be soon (money wise)! My price range is around 5k, and that is alot of money for me, so i wanna know what im dealing with!

I have made the commitment to actully aquirre some knowledge on this topic, since i always have been that type that have 'just played', instead of worrying about long scale basses, pickups, and so on. I guess, i was hoping, that some of you had some general buying tips, and some great resourses for general knowledge on the hardware of the bass (Fx. finding the tone you want, how do you know the bass is worth it/quality, bass hardware), ANYTHING is apreciated , the bottom line is; How do i make the right choice for me?

Thanks in advance!
    -Kasper
  2. stepswork4me

stepswork4me

Play as many as possible and choose accordingly.
  3. darkstorm

darkstorm

Exactly. No reason to spend 5k for a bass either. Tons of excellent pro level basses available for much much less.
  4. hgiles

hgiles

$5000? Are you kidding me? Nice budget!

Play what's readily available around town. Friends, Shops, Craigslist. If you're lucky enough to find a TB collector nearby then you might go see if they'll let you try their boutique basses out. Shops don't sell enough boutique basses to keep many in stock, so you'll be lucky to find a shop with more than one or two. Tough one.

If someone offered me $5000 for a bass I wouldn't even know where to begin.
  5. Register to disable this ad
  6. odin70

odin70