How do I connect this subwoofer??

Discussion in 'Live Sound [BG]' started by BigGuns, Aug 31, 2010.

1. BigGuns

BigGuns

Hi All,

Here's what I have:

- Yamaha EMX5014 Powered Mixer and S115V Speakers (passive)
    - Gemini GVX SUB15P Subwoofer (Active)

I have been attempting to figure out how to connect these different components, and have been searching online for some resources on how to do it, but I'm hitting a wall. In my research, I've basically come to the conclusion that it can't be done because the mixer doesn't have a signal return for the subwoofer crossover. I have very little knowledge about this, but that is one thing I've learned. So IS there a way to do it? What I'd like to acheive is isolation of the low frequencies to let the sub handle them. The kick drum and bass would go through the sub, leaving the mains to handle the vocals.

If there is a way to do it, does anyone know it? If not, what would you suggest I do - replace the mixer? Or replace the mains with actives and get a passive sub that the mixer could power? If that is the way to go, how would I connect them?

If this is at all confusing, let me know and I will clarify.

Thanks all for you assistance!

- Ben
  2. Barisaxman

Barisaxman Supporting Member

You've run into one of the biggest issues with powered mixers: limited flexibility and ability to expand. The good news is you're not completely out of luck. If one of your auxes is free, you can use the aux output and essentially run an aux feed and only put the channel you want into your sub (kick drum, bass guitar, keys, etc). Simply use a TRS (from the aux 1 or 2 output) tp the XLR line into the powered sub. Turn up the aux knob on channels you want fed to the sub (and I believe the aux fader) and voila! You should be able to operate in this fashion.

Down the road I'd suggest getting a passive mixer and grab and appropriate power amp for your main speakers, as well as a proper crossover and FOH EQ.