1. Welcome to TalkBass, the Premier Bass Player Community and Information Source. We've been uniting the Low End Since 1998!

We're glad you've found us. Register a 100% Free Account to post and unlock tons of features.

How do I get a better sound?

Discussion in 'Ask Todd Johnson' started by skarob0t, Oct 9, 2012.

1. skarob0t

skarob0t

I've been playing bass for about two years, and the main thing I have problems with is the sound my fingers make on the fretboard. I mean, you could literally hear my fingers moving. It's really irritating. Anything I can do to make that sound go away? It would be greatly appreciated

2. thebandcircle

thebandcircle

Try turning your tweeter/horn level down on the back of your cab. Or even the treble knob a little? A grounding issue can also cause hum while touching the strings...Hope that helps!

3. Exploiter8

Exploiter8 I'm no gynecologist but I'll take a look. Supporting Member

Disclosures:
    Commercial FREE!
    Maybe flat wounds or ground wounds?

X8

4. kbodonne

kbodonne

+1 treble/ tone knobs/ tweeter turn down. If you have an adjustable EQ you can turn your highs down.

If you're playing with any peddles or overdrive they could cause it as well

5. Register to disable this ad
  6. neebs

neebs

Flats. But you probably don't care for flats. Have you used flats before? Is it a tone you care for?

7. Funkyjazz6

Funkyjazz6

Have you considered it may be an issue with your technique?

8. skarob0t

skarob0t

Yeah, in which case I'd need help with haha. I'm a girl, and my fingers aren't that strong, so it could be that.

9. skarob0t

skarob0t

Yup! The tone is a problem.

10. Bassist4Eris

Bassist4Eris Non Serviam Supporting Member

It sounds like you're just talking about basic string noise. This is a fact of life with roundwound strings, and usually isn't noticable when the bass is mixed in with a band. The previous suggestions to turn down the treble and/or try flats are good ones.

11. Bassist4Eris