How do I get a raw bass tone?

Discussion in 'Live Sound [BG]' started by devinp17, Mar 17, 2014.

1. devinp17

devinp17 Guest

Hey everyone. I was wondering if anyone could help me with getting a raw sound from my bass. I'm a finger-style bassist, and I'm currently playing a Squier Precision Bass Special (P/J) along with a Traynor BLOC 80B... very simple combo amp.(Volume, Treble, Middle, Bass). I'll be getting an Electro-Harmonix Steel Leather Bass Expander Pedal soon as I ordered it a few days ago. So does anyone have some suggestions? New amp, another pedal, different bass maybe? I might be getting the Squier Vintage Modified Telecaster Bass because I know that the middle switch setting sounds really nice and raw!

Any help is appreciated! :) Thanks!
  2. bkbirge

bkbirge Supporting Member

Disclosures:
    Endorsing Artist: Steak n Shake
    What does "raw" mean to you?
  3. hrodbert696

hrodbert696 Supporting Member

+1, maybe an example of the tone you're trying to emulate?
  4. devinp17

devinp17 Guest

I wanna get kinda like a Fender Jazz Bass Special type sound...
    That's the rawest sounding bass I've ever heard... I have the P/J pickups but I don't know what else...
  5. Register to disable this ad
  6. hrodbert696

hrodbert696 Supporting Member

You mean one of the 80s ones like Duff McKagan played? Friend, there is no such thing as "the" Fender Jazz Special "sound." It has two pickups and a tone control - you can get lots of different sounds out of it. So you've still given us no idea what you actually mean by "raw."

If you want Duff McKagan's tone, or that of someone else who uses that particular bass, tell us so, and maybe someone knows what else they use in their rig. Or if you have a youtube video or sound clip of the tone you want, share that and people may have ideas how to get it. Not much we can say without more information.
  7. OldDirtyBassist

OldDirtyBassist