How do I go about learning jazz?

Discussion in 'Technique [BG]' started by newyorkiddo, Jul 13, 2013.

1. newyorkiddo

newyorkiddo I'm actually a cat. Supporting Member

I'm a fairly new bassist and I just recently bought my first jazz bass after being stuck with a low quality precision bass. So, having this new bass, I've decided I want to learn something new. Could any of you lead me to some YouTube videos or anything that could help me learn to play jazz?

2. bkbirge

bkbirge Supporting Member

Disclosures:
    Endorsing Artist: Steak n Shake
    Ed Friedland's (who happens to post here a lot) book about how to walk is excellent. It's on amazon. But the two best ways are listening and participating, preferably both at the same time. I'd start out by immersing yourself in the sounds, stick with the classics, Oscar Peterson, Dizzy Gillespie, Ray Brown, etc. Pre and bop-era. Learn that triplet time feel called swing until it's in your blood and you hear it in the trees creaking. If you don't know blues yet you'll want to start your practicals figuring that out. You can't play jazz without blues knowledge (and a great jazzer told me once you can't play blues without the old gospel knowledge). It's all connected.

3. BassChuck

BassChuck Supporting Member

Ed's books are wonderful and anything he says or writes is more than worth the time spend. That said, learning jazz is an aural skill, as is all music. Listen to all kinds of jazz. Jerry Coker's book on jazz is a great start to learn names, styles and history. Jazz is not just walking basslines, and swing. Jazz is a mode of thinking, a way of looking at life. Compare the work of two of the jazz greats, Louis Armstrong and Charles Mingus. Very different music... yet a great similarity in way they dealt with their times. It's a great trip, enjoy.

4. edfriedland

edfriedland Supporting Member