How do I know when to upgrade?

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by Zoop Soup, Feb 6, 2014.

1. Zoop Soup

Zoop Soup

I started playing bass in December, so I won't be looking for a new instrument anytime soon. But I have to know, how am I supposed to know when to upgrade? It seems like there's "high tier" basses that you get at the end game of bass playing IE: You know you're serious and are willing to seek out a quality instrument.
    But how am I supposed to know when I'm supposed to get one of these high tier basses? This may sound like a stupid question and I expect some "You'll figure it out" answers but I've been wondering this since I joined the forums. Is there some skill ceiling I'll hit on my current bass that I will have to upgrade to surpass?

(I have a Yamaha RBX170, if that's relevant)

2. MarshallNole

MarshallNole Supporting Member

I'm fairly new too but am about to pull the trigger on a new bass.

I'd say if you know you are in this for the long haul and you have the cash for a higher end bass, go for it.

3. Jefff

Jefff Supporting Member

When you have the money.

4. WoodyG3

WoodyG3 Supporting Member

Get it when you want it and have the money. Don't over think it. :)

5. Register to disable this ad
  6. Bassisgood4U

Bassisgood4U Banned

The Yamaha is a great instrument to learn on.

7. davrip

davrip

You spend more time looking as basses in ads than practicing.

8. tjh

tjh Supporting Member

.. when the bass you have isn't meeting your needs .. or, when people on TB tell you that you need to, without having any idea what your needs are ...

... if you spend enough time on here, it will almost certainly be the latter of the two ...

9. xUptheIronsx

xUptheIronsx Conform or Be Cast Out.... Gold Supporting Member

you will know when you also have been around long enough to find your own definition of "high end bass".

for some, it is a $7000 flamed burl-top fanned fret 9 string with bartolini pick-ups and LED's in the neck etc. etc.