How do I teach a blind kid to play bass?

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by Deedeevicious, Jan 25, 2013.

1. Deedeevicious

Deedeevicious

Hey everybody,

I'm a punk bass player, root notes only. I dont really have any music theory or real fundamentals except knowing the minor pentatonic scale by heart. Ive been playing on and off for about seven years and play in a Hardcore punk band.

I'm moving into a new place, in the basement of a house. In the house lives a family including a young, probably 7 or 8 years old, blind boy who is a really talented piano player. I heard and saw him play and he is a true natural.

He really wants to check out my bass and I really want to teach him so he can play it himself. Im sure I can just use my intuition and own knowledge to help him get going but I just wanted to put this out here on the forums.

How do I go about teaching him? What is the first thing I should teach him? Any advice or help is appreciated.

Thanks! I think this might be the best thing I will ever do in my life. This kid has more musical talent in his finger than I have in my entire body.
  2. jgroh

jgroh Supporting Member

I wonder if there was a way to put raised "dots" on the frets so he could feel where he is on the board...at least to get started. So on the 3rd fret there is one raised dot, two on the 5th, etc etc. I dunno, just an idea.
  3. Phalex

Phalex Yeah, I've got the moves like Jagger. Supporting Member

I think you could do it by ear.

If you each have a bass, and you are in tune, start with open E. Should be obvious when he's found it, right? Then move on to the first fret. When you get to fret five, move to the A string.

Identify the notes as you go along, and keep it up until he can find a note by himself.

Then move on to I-V.......
  4. FretlessMainly

FretlessMainly