How do I test my amp's loop?

Discussion in 'Amps [BG]' started by LongHairFreak, Feb 27, 2014.


  1. LongHairFreak

    LongHairFreak Supporting The Gold

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2006
    Messages:
    1,135
    Location:
    Twin Cities - MN
    Hey TB

    My amp's from '71/'72 and I've no way to get skematics, so I've no idea if it's fx loop is series or parallel. Is there an easy way for me to figure this out w/o taking it to my tech?

    Thanks
     
  2. nashvillebill

    nashvillebill

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2002
    Messages:
    3,362
    Location:
    Nashville TN
  3. LongHairFreak

    LongHairFreak Supporting The Gold

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2006
    Messages:
    1,135
    Location:
    Twin Cities - MN
  4. Jazz Ad

    Jazz Ad Mi la ré sol Gold Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2002
    Messages:
    9,997
    Location:
    Reims, Champagne, France
    Plug something into the fx loop out. If you hear no sound, it's serial.
     
  5. Register to disable this ad
  6. LongHairFreak

    LongHairFreak Supporting The Gold

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2006
    Messages:
    1,135
    Location:
    Twin Cities - MN
    Hmm. So,series cuts off the signal to get in line and parallel walks along side and I'd still have sound, right? Cool! Thanks.
     
  7. nashvillebill

    nashvillebill

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2002
    Messages:
    3,362
    Location:
    Nashville TN
    You mean FX in, that's usually a switching jack; most FX out are not switching so they can be used as an additional preamp out.

    The preamp schematic is here by the way:

    http://westlabs.com/PreampSchem.HTML

    It's series.
     
  8. nashvillebill

    nashvillebill

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2002
    Messages:
    3,362
    Location:
    Nashville TN
  9. LongHairFreak

    LongHairFreak Supporting The Gold

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2006
    Messages:
    1,135
    Location:
    Twin Cities - MN
    HA! Yes, Google is great. I just feel ...'needy'? if I state the following every time I post something.
    I am blind, so I miss a lot on web searches and obviously I wouldn't be able to read a skematic if I did find it.


    Thanks very much for obtaining that information for me.
     
  10. BassmanPaul

    BassmanPaul Gold Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2007
    Messages:
    13,847
    Location:
    Toronto Ontario Canada
    It would be nice if only we could look at a pre-amp schematic that wasn't identical to a Fender!
     
  11. LongHairFreak

    LongHairFreak Supporting The Gold

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2006
    Messages:
    1,135
    Location:
    Twin Cities - MN
    So is this West a Fender knock-off of sorts? I thought it was West's answer to Ampeg.
     

Share This Page