How do I test my amp's loop?

Discussion in 'Amps [BG]' started by LongHairFreak, Feb 27, 2014.


  1. LongHairFreak

    LongHairFreak Supporting The Gold Gold Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2006
    Messages:
    1,135
    Location:
    Twin Cities - MN
    Hey TB

    My amp's from '71/'72 and I've no way to get skematics, so I've no idea if it's fx loop is series or parallel. Is there an easy way for me to figure this out w/o taking it to my tech?

    Thanks
     
  2. nashvillebill

    nashvillebill

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2002
    Messages:
    3,356
    Location:
    Nashville TN
  3. LongHairFreak

    LongHairFreak Supporting The Gold Gold Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2006
    Messages:
    1,135
    Location:
    Twin Cities - MN
  4. Jazz Ad

    Jazz Ad Mi la ré sol Gold Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2002
    Messages:
    9,975
    Location:
    Reims, Champagne, France
    Plug something into the fx loop out. If you hear no sound, it's serial.
     
  5. Register to disable this ad
  6. LongHairFreak

    LongHairFreak Supporting The Gold Gold Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2006
    Messages:
    1,135
    Location:
    Twin Cities - MN
    Hmm. So,series cuts off the signal to get in line and parallel walks along side and I'd still have sound, right? Cool! Thanks.
     
  7. nashvillebill

    nashvillebill

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2002
    Messages:
    3,356
    Location:
    Nashville TN
    You mean FX in, that's usually a switching jack; most FX out are not switching so they can be used as an additional preamp out.

    The preamp schematic is here by the way:

    http://westlabs.com/PreampSchem.HTML

    It's series.
     
  8. nashvillebill

    nashvillebill

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2002
    Messages:
    3,356
    Location:
    Nashville TN
  9. LongHairFreak

    LongHairFreak Supporting The Gold Gold Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2006
    Messages:
    1,135
    Location:
    Twin Cities - MN
    HA! Yes, Google is great. I just feel ...'needy'? if I state the following every time I post something.
    I am blind, so I miss a lot on web searches and obviously I wouldn't be able to read a skematic if I did find it.


    Thanks very much for obtaining that information for me.
     
  10. BassmanPaul

    BassmanPaul Gold Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2007
    Messages:
    13,733
    Location:
    Toronto Ontario Canada
    It would be nice if only we could look at a pre-amp schematic that wasn't identical to a Fender!
     
  11. LongHairFreak

    LongHairFreak Supporting The Gold Gold Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2006
    Messages:
    1,135
    Location:
    Twin Cities - MN
    So is this West a Fender knock-off of sorts? I thought it was West's answer to Ampeg.
     

Share This Page