1. Welcome to TalkBass, the Premier Bass Player Community and Information Source. We've been uniting the Low End Since 1998!

We're glad you've found us. Register a 100% Free Account to post and unlock tons of features.

How do you EQ Flatwounds?

Discussion in 'Strings [BG]' started by zachoff, Feb 2, 2013.

1. zachoff

zachoff

Got a bass last night... 80s Peavey Fury. It's OK. It has flats on it and it's my first bass with flats. Plugged it into my SVT/810 and I couldn't be heard. Messed w/ the eq for about 4 or 5 minutes and still couldn't be heard. Went back to my regular bass. Anyway, since I'm a flat noob... Just wondering how you EQ them and I guess a better question would be are they at all usable in a punk rock sorta setting? I'm probably just doing something wrong.

2. JoeWPgh

JoeWPgh

I'm not sure that flats are a good match to an SVT - (I'm sure I catch hell for this) Flats are the only way to go with a 50's~early 60's era amp. Modern amps work well with them. To my ears, the SVT was made for round wounds.

3. BFunk

BFunk Gold Supporting Member

An 80's Peavey Fury should have a very high output muscular tone even with flats. Based on your description, I doubt it was the strings. Have you tried the bass through another amp?

4. zachoff

zachoff

Not yet. I only played it for a couple songs last night before I switch back to my G&L. Didn't get home until after 11 & went snowboarding today so I just got home & now I'm headed out. I'll plug it into my micro tomorrow.