1. Welcome to TalkBass, the Premier Bass Player Community and Information Source. We've been uniting the Low End Since 1998!

We're glad you've found us. Register a 100% Free Account to post and unlock tons of features.

how do you read bass guitar sheet music?

Discussion in 'Ask Mike Watt [Archived]' started by nick rutigliano, May 7, 2004.

1. nick rutigliano

nick rutigliano

I just started playing bass guitar and i have no idea what i'm doing. The first thing i need to know is how to read sheet music.

2. Adam Barkley

Adam Barkley Mayday!

Media:
    Find an internet guide on learning to read music. Or purchase a beginner piano book. It's great that you made an effort to think outside tablature, most beginners don't.

I believe middle C is the fifth fret of the G string.

3. Benjamin Strange

Benjamin Strange

Disclosures:
    Owner / Tech: Strange Guitarworks
    Go buy "Note Reading Studies for Bass", by Arnold Evans, published by Mel Bay. Best. Reading. Book. Ever.

4. i like tictacs

i like tictacs

Ben: Any links on this book you could hook it up with? I'm interested, I'm at that point where I can read so-so, but not very fluently, per se. I know all the notes on the fretboard, but I still have to stop and think when I'm reading notation.

5. Register to disable this ad
  6. Benjamin Strange

Benjamin Strange

Disclosures:
  7. i like tictacs

i like tictacs

8. Benjamin Strange

Benjamin Strange

Disclosures:
  9. Matt Till

Matt Till

I get yelled at for remebering it like this but when it comes to the notes, the spaces are ACEG then the lines are GBDFA and I remeber it like this

A
    Crazy
    Evil
    Gangsta

Ghetto
    Bin Laden
    Da
    Funky
    Arab

Being the name of Osama Bin Laden's debut rap album. :D

10. Timbo

Timbo

Hahahahahahahaha I'll have to tell my friends that one.

11. spc

spc