1. Welcome to TalkBass, the Premier Bass Player Community and Information Source. We've been uniting the Low End Since 1998!

We're glad you've found us. Register a 100% Free Account to post and unlock tons of features.

How important is groove to you?

Discussion in 'Technique [BG]' started by cousinofmurloc, Apr 12, 2014.

1. cousinofmurloc

cousinofmurloc

Hey guys this is more of a curious just for fun question. I've been playing for about 4 months. I used to play the drums and I love music. I'd like to think I have a lot of soul and it I think it makes me sound better than I actually am. Does groove help you play better or do you just stick to technique and scales?

2. ahc

ahc

How important is air to you?

Music is made of rhythm, melody and harmony. Every genre has a "groove". Without it, it's not music.

3. hover

hover Banned

if it don't groove whats the point , i say

4. lfmn16

lfmn16 Supporting Member

Disclosures:
    I'm a Fuzzrocious-aholic. It's been one week since I bought my last Fuzzrocious pedal.
    Technique and groove are not mutually exclusive. Good technique helps you to groove because you can concentrate on WHAT to play instead iof HOW to play.

5. Register to disable this ad
  6. Greg Jones

Greg Jones

It is the most important thing.

Play bass with a drummer that doesn't have it ...

I'd rather stick a fork in my eye.

7. chungweishan

chungweishan

I define groove as the ability to stay in tempo, syncs with the drum beats, and moves the music. Whereas most the time the simplest basslines are the most effective as long as it "grooves."