How is the music scene in Europe (scandinavia)

Discussion in 'Miscellaneous [DB]' started by Jazzkuma, Jan 26, 2014.

1. Jazzkuma

Jazzkuma Supporting Member

Im currently a music student in Boston and will be graduating this year. I have started to think about where I want to move since I dont plan to stay in Boston that much longer (or the east coast for that matter). LA is one of my options but another option I thought about was checking out Europe, but more specifically Sweden, Denmark, Iceland, Norway, Finland.

Im a jazz bassist primarily but love to play any style of music, love playing live as well as in the studio. I wanted to know if anyone here has any experience living or even just visiting one of these countries and checking out the music scene. I have heard good things but I am afraid that I wont have work if I ever go there.

As far as language, I only speak English and Spanish but I heard that in all of these countries people speak near perfect english.

2. bjelkeman

bjelkeman Bass player wannabe Supporting Member

Hi Jazzkuma, I live in Stockholm, Sweden.

In music you do get a long way with English, so I don't think that would be a major problem. The biggest challenge may be getting a work permit, unless you have an EU passport.

The music scene is very active, but it is notoriously hard to make a living from it, as far as I understand it. If you are extremely good you can probably break into the studio musician market in Sweden, but I know very little about it, so take that with a pinch of salt.

I have friends who are top range musicians, who come from Latin America, who scrape a living as music teachers, but then they speak pretty good Swedish.

Don't hesitate to ask me any questions.

3. MikeCanada

MikeCanada

My sister spent a year in Sweden, and I briefly met a bassist who was from Canada and living in Sweden.