1. Welcome to TalkBass, the Premier Bass Player Community and Information Source. We've been uniting the Low End Since 1998!

We're glad you've found us. Register a 100% Free Account to post and unlock tons of features.

How "large" of a gig are you using a single 1x12 effectively?

Discussion in 'Amps [BG]' started by prokfrog, Jan 5, 2014.

1. prokfrog

prokfrog

I've been running 2 (mismatched) 112's for many years now and for the most part, its been overkill volume wise at my gigs. I'm wondering if I can get away with just one. I know the easy answer is bring both cabs to the next gig, and unplug one, but I'm curious what the community is doing with a single 112 these days. I'm in a pop/rock cover band playing rooms with ~ 100-250 occupancy. Modest PA support

Thanks!

2. Mastermold

Mastermold Supporting Member

Disclosures:
    Firemelon
    I guess it depends on the cabinet, the rest of the band's volume and the extent of the PA. My Mesa Walkabout Scout is a 12" but the passive radiator makes it bloom louder than most single 12s. I can fill a pretty decent size room with it, probably what you describe so long as PA support is there.

3. swamp_bass

swamp_bass I love it when a groove comes together Supporting Member

I think it's safe to say that not all 112's are created equal. If you identify the cabinet, and what you're driving it with, you might get more responses by those who've had experience with said cab.

What's confusing is the "Modest PA support." Is your bass going through the PA, or are just the vocals?

4. basss

basss Supporting Member