How long did it take you to learn slap?

Discussion in 'Technique [BG]' started by artdrtr, Dec 17, 2013.

1. artdrtr

artdrtr Supporting Member

I'm totally frustrated trying to learn to slap. I'm a converted guitarist now self taught on bass for almost 7 years and have played in classic rock cover bands for the past 6 (finger style).

I really want to learn slap bass but find it hard and its not coming naturally. I can't get clean tones, popping or slapping notes so I give up easy after 10-15 mins and just go back to learning and playing songs... I've tried books and youtube vids but still hasn't clicked and I'm in a rut.

Q: How long did it take you to become competent and confident to slap?

Q: Did you take lessons or self taught?

Q: I play a fender P, but I've heard active basses are better for slapping tone?

I know I'll never be Flea or Zender, but really want to play funk music..help?
  2. Grissle

Grissle Supporting Member

I can do Berlin, Jaco, Jameson but can't slap to save my life😆

I'm not sayin give up, but just that your not alone here.
  3. tminus10

tminus10 Supporting Member

First off, dont worry about how long it took others. plus " competent" is subjective. Just find a good slap video program and move through it VERY slowly. One bass from another may SOUND more ideal fore slap, but you can learn slap on ANY bass
  4. chadds

chadds

About as long as it took me to forget. :)
    It's cool and a nice effect to have in your technique quiver. Yet....
    I knew things had gone too far when John Tesh's bassist (at Red Rocks) gets a solo space and proceeds to slap & pop!! :):):)
    Is Breakdancing always appropriate?

Of course for your music, band & audience mileage may vary.

I've had very competent slappers hand me their basses to find the volume control, pickup selection and tone roll offs to be far off for low end support in a tune.
  5. Bass Fund

Bass Fund