how many watts can my cabinet handle?

Discussion in 'Amps [BG]' started by rlm2112, Apr 2, 2004.

1. rlm2112

rlm2112

Hello, i've never posted here before, so please go easy on me :D Ok here's my problem: I just started playing bass, i've played guitar for seven years, and I recently bought a cabinet with a 15" speaker in it, which i later found out to be an aluminum cone Hartke. The only thing the speaker says on it is "Hartke Systems Transient Attack 4 ohms" and there is a price tag-like label with "112795" on it. I should also mention that i'm considering getting a Behringer BX3000T head, which i understand to be 300 watts RMS. Now my knowledge of speakers isn't too great, but i am assuming that my Hartke speaker would have to handle 300 watts if i used it with the Behringer BX3000T, right? So i need to find out how many watts my speaker is rated to handle. If anyone could help me out with this i would really appriciate it, and also if someone could explain or point me in the right direction about bass amps in general, i'm having trouble figuring out what heads can go with what cabinets, due to all the different watts and ohms ratings. Please help me!

2. Johnny BoomBoom

Johnny BoomBoom Supporting Member

Hi, welcome to the forum.

OK, can't find your exact cab from the details you've given........you might wanna check out the www.hartke.com website to see if your cab looks like any of them.

Anyway, if you have a head that produces it's max output at 4 ohms (most of them) or 2 ohms (some of them) you have to be careful about what cabs you use.

You will also find that although they put out maximum power at the stated impedance, they will have a lower output at higher impedance levels ie max power at 4 ohms ,lower power at 8 ohms!