1. Welcome to TalkBass, the Premier Bass Player Community and Information Source. We've been uniting the Low End Since 1998!

We're glad you've found us. Register a 100% Free Account to post and unlock tons of features.

How much rosin to use?

Discussion in 'Bows and Rosin [DB]' started by jazzcomposer, Nov 27, 2012.

1. jazzcomposer

jazzcomposer

I am relatively new to classical bass playing, after a few years of jazz (both upright and electric). One problem I've encountered is how much rosin to use. I believe I may have been using too much recently, as there is a "screechy" undertone to my sound, and the bow often seems to glide too freely across the strings. (and I'm positive that too little probably isn't the issue)
    Exactly how much rosin is correct, and how can I go about fixing my current problem of too much rosin on the bow?
    Thank you!

2. JoeDaddio

JoeDaddio

I'm a noob, but "gliding too freely" and sounds like too little rosin to me.

I've only been playing about 5 months and I think I've just found the amount of rosin that I feel comfortable with (for now) and it's more than I assumed at first.

joe

3. MartinBorgen

MartinBorgen

Rosin can be a little lubricating sometimes, but depending on how much you've played arco, it's hard to judge. Many new players with new, previously un-rosined bows, tend to apply to little in the beginning, getting a scratchy effect from the bow not really grabbing the strings.

I would say too much is when the bow stops dead in its tracks and start sticking to the strings if you use your arm weight. try reaching this point, play away (the rosing will dissapear, after some playing, and don't apply rosin until it's gripping poorly (might take a few days depending on how much you play).

4. JoeDaddio

JoeDaddio