How nimble are higher-end cabinet manufacturers?

Discussion in 'Amps [BG]' started by Jim Carr, Apr 8, 2012.

1. Jim Carr

Jim Carr Dr. Jim Gold Supporting Member

Disclosures:
    Union card-carrying liberal academic musician
    Is true that Greenboy, Bill Fitzmaurice, Duke LeJeune, and Barefaced designed bass cabinets are starting to eat the lunches of Bergantino, Epifani, Mesa, Ampeg, Genz Benz, Eden, GK, et al.? :eyebrow:

Care to offer a back of the envelope calculation of total sales they have missed out on in the last few quarters? :eek:

If it is a significant bite, how nimbly do you think large higher-end bass cabinet manufacturers can respond to the competition?
    What will they do? :ninja:
  2. BurningSkies

BurningSkies Supporting Member

3. T-Bird

T-Bird

Hi.

I'm no expert, and even though I'm a fan of DIY style stuff, including the contribution of these fine gentlemen You mentioned, here's my humble opinion.

As a whole, no.
    Some local sales may be lost here and there.

My guess would be a couple of sales each, max.

If they all of a sudden see these "DIY-oriented" designs as a threat, they'll respond by either licensing or copying the design. Both are standard business models.

Different kinds of DIY/small scale (boutique if You will) manufacturing has existed for decades. Every DIY design that has been an improvement, has stuck eventually.

Keeping the feasibility of manufacturing in mind obviously.

Regards
    Sam
  4. Jim Carr

Jim Carr Dr. Jim Gold Supporting Member

Disclosures:
    Union card-carrying liberal academic musician
    Yes. So let's call that ~100 fEARful users, just to make it easy. That is only some % of the fEARfuls, and is not accounting for BFM, LDS, TC, Alex Claber, etc., and should we count Avatar?

What if all of them added together was ~300 cabinets in the last 4 quarters?
    How much in lost sales for the big guys does that represent? :cool:
  5. Register to disable this ad
  6. Joe Louvar

Joe Louvar