how to do this.

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by gfclef48, Feb 16, 2014.

1. gfclef48

gfclef48

Hi folks gfclef48 here. I am new to the learning bass world. only know my roots and fifths so far and was wondering if anyone could tell me if its possible to play bass thru my laptop while using headphones. I would like to be able to use you tube and learn to play along with tunes I see. problem is that I don't want to bother anyone else in the house, so I have to do it through headphones. I have a rp90 with effects. is it possible to do this. Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

2. Bassisgood4U

Bassisgood4U Banned

It will probably blow the headphones. I wish Fender would just make a computer for that, but it could lead to "my bass lines were hacked.".

3. extarbags

extarbags

I think it works if you use something like this. It's for a music video game but it also works with other audio programs. Seems like it should digitize the signal coming from the bass and output it through your computer speakers or headphone if you have them plugged in.

4. Kmonk

Kmonk

Disclosures:
    Endorsing Artist: Fender, Spector, Ampeg, Curt Mangan Strings
    I sometimes use a Tascam US122 to play through a computer while using headphones.

5. Register to disable this ad
  6. Happynoj

Happynoj

Line 6 Toneport GX.

7. JakobT

JakobT

I use an Ampeg amp with a CD playthrough option, which I run the laptop through.

8. hrodbert696

hrodbert696 Supporting Member

My setup is probably unnecessarily complicated, it just developed over time. I run both my computer (from its phones output) and my amp into a cheap mixing board (a Yamaha MG10/2) and then headphones out of that. Works just fine, but that way I can play with headphones to anything I can play on the computer, without using a digital interface for the bass.

9. JohnMCA72

JohnMCA72