How to fix a broken Kay tuning peg?

Discussion in 'Setup & Repair [DB]' started by FlamencoTom, Dec 16, 2012.

1. FlamencoTom

FlamencoTom

I have a mid-1950's Kay bass. One of the tuning pegs snapped off. I live in Eastern CT and tried Upton Bass for help, but they don't have any parts around that would fix it. I discovered this forum and was wondering if anyone has a suggestion about how to proceed? I've been playing the bass for about 5 years, we have a quartet called "the seldom heard" and we play about once a month, so I need to find some way to fix this. Thanks for any suggestions! [​IMG]

Attached Files:

2. StayinTime

StayinTime

Hi have you checked out Gollihur Music?
  3. KUNGfuSHERIFF

KUNGfuSHERIFF

Bob won't have Kluson machines, because Kluson went of business decades ago. I hear the machines Engelhardt uses (and Gollihur sells) are not a drop-in replacement.

You could keep an eye on eBay as they do pop up occasionally, or, if you'd like to have the bass back in action soon, start calling machinists and welders to see if any of them are interested in helping for a reasonable price. I've seen coins, washers and all sorts of crazy stuff welded onto broken tuning machines.
  4. 360guy

360guy

I had the same situation on a repair about 2 years ago. Here's what I did. I bought some brass rid ( same diameter as the Kay post 1/4"?) and brass plate the same thickness as the other tuning keys (1/16"?). I bought these at a hobby shop.

Remove the whole tuning plate. Using a jeweler's saw trim 1/2 the rod lengthwise. Then fashion a piece that mimics the original and solder the assembly. It's not easy but it is doable. You might be able to hire this out to a jewelry repair shop. I'd guess they would charge you 75-100.

Send me a message if you want help. I still have some of the necessary brass left over. Good luck!
  5. Register to disable this ad
  6. fdeck

fdeck Supporting Member

Disclosures:
    HPF Technology: Protecting the Pocket since 2007