1. Welcome to TalkBass 2014! If you're new here, we just went through a major site upgrade. Please post all concerns and bugs to the Forum Usage Issues forum. We will be monitoring that forum. Thank you for all of your feedback.

The TalkBass iphone/android app is NOT WORKING currently. We're working on it. Tapatalk IS working, so if you need to use an app, use Tapatalk. Try using your browser though - TalkBass is now 100% responsive to your phone/tablet screen size ;)

Please read the TalkBass 2014 FAQ for lots of great info on the new software.

How To Not Be a Dumb Bassist

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by brandonjshaw, Jan 28, 2014.

1. brandonjshaw

brandonjshaw

Hey guys,

My name is Brandon Shaw, I'm a bassist in the LA area. I've been playing and teaching professionally for about 10 years.

I just wrote an article titled, "How To Not Be a Dumb Bassist" and thought I would pass it a long to my fellow bassists.

Let me know what you think!

Thanks,

Brandon
  2. casper_morgan

casper_morgan

Great article.. I wouldn't say it applies to all genre's but most especially classic rock stuff.
  3. pfox14

pfox14

Why do make you the point that "bassists play the root on down beat" or "bassists only play one note at a time". Not the way it is all the time.
  4. greggster59

greggster59 Supporting Member

Great advice and it confirms my analogy that a bassist is to a band what Larry Fine is to The Three Stooges (the glue).:bassist:
  5. DannyBob

DannyBob

It was all right if aimed at a complete beginner, but for everyone else, some of it just didn't apply
  6. Lownote38

Lownote38

I play and have played chords on bass all the time. I also believe it's important that everyone be the glue in a band regardless of genre. It's not just the drummer's job to keep the rhythm. It's everyone's job. That can only happen when everyone listens to the other members of the band.