1. Welcome to TalkBass 2014! If you're new here, we just went through a major site upgrade. Please post all concerns and bugs to the Forum Usage Issues forum. We will be monitoring that forum. Thank you for all of your feedback.

The TB Android app is working, you may need to uninstall/reinstall. The iPhone app is now updated and should work after you upgrade. TalkBass is responsive to any screen size, so we recommend using your mobile browser for full functionality.

Please read the TalkBass 2014 FAQ for lots of great info on the new software.

How to practice?

Discussion in 'Technique [BG]' started by Karimsamir, Jan 12, 2014.

1. Karimsamir

Karimsamir

Hello, I've been playing the bass for several years now. However, although people think I've been doing well, I always have this feeling that I'm doing it wrong. I tried studying books, playing covers, and even randomly play. But it always come to this problem where I don't know what to do. I feel I want to practice so much but when I start setting up I just don't know what to do. Is there any syllabus or something for technique improvement as well as rhythm improvement because, also, I don't have except a couple of ideas I'm always stuck to when it comes to jamming.

Thank you,
  2. Dogbertday

Dogbertday

I charge $30 for a half hour for answering that question.
  3. Karimsamir

Karimsamir

Well thank you man.. Trust me if it's affordable I would have taken classes
  4. Dogbertday

Dogbertday

Sorry for the smart answer but honestly there's a ton of free material out there. Basically just learn music you love and you'll become the musician you want to be. If it's common stuff you can usually use Google to find an analysis or discussion of the song that'll help with the theory side.

However specific questions are most quickly answered by a teacher. Even if it's only a couple lessons or one every couple months
  5. freatles

freatles

A teacher cannot tell you why you are training...