How to properly start up an SVT Classic Head

Discussion in 'Amps [BG]' started by beerthebear, Feb 18, 2014.

1. beerthebear

beerthebear BEADG

Hi,

I've recently bought a SVT Classic Head and have a question. I'm relatively new to the tube game, as I've used solid state amps in the past (or hybrid amps). Those were easy to start up, just flip the switch. However, with this all tube amp, I've read conflicting ways to start it up.

In the manual there is this concept of "Stand-by." I'm assuming that standby is when you flip the standby switch and no sound comes out of your amp. What I don't understand is why it is in "standby" when the switch is set to "0" instead of "l"? Also, I've read that your supposed to start the amp with standby off, and only switch to standby once it has warmed up a bit. Is this the proper way? I'm just making sure I have this right, this is an expensive amp (lovely sounding as well), and I want to make sure that I treat it with the respect she deserves =)

I'm assuming that I need to flip the Power switch from "0" to "l" if and only if the standby switch is already positioned at "l" (with standby off). Your validation, or corrections are greatly appreciated.

2. InsanityAmps

InsanityAmps Supporting Member

The proper way is to turn the power switch to the on position(1) first with the amp on standby(0). This lets the tubes warm up. After a minute or so turn the amp off standby(1) and you are ready to rock. Just think of the standby switch as another power switch which it is. It turns on the high voltage to the tubes.

3. BurningSkies

BurningSkies Supporting Member

Feel free to ignore that switch.

You'll read a lot about tube amps needing to warm up before 'taking out of standby' .They really need all of about 10 seconds.

I own a bunch of tube amps that don't even have 'standby'. It's handy when you want to have a set break and leave your amp on and muted though.

4. InsanityAmps

InsanityAmps Supporting Member