How to put together : mixer, monitors and interface?

Discussion in 'Recording Gear and Equipment [BG]' started by bebertq, Nov 23, 2012.

1. bebertq

bebertq

Hello!

I am currently using a mixer and powered studio monitors to practice guitar or bass. The monitors are plugged into the main mix XLR outs.

Now that I am considering purchasing an audio interface to record my creations into my computer, I am wondering how I can hook everything up properly.

I would like to use the monitors to hear the main mix (obviously), but would also like to hear the output of the sound card when I am using it for non-recording things (listening to MP3, etc.).

Any ideas how I could do this? I am not very experienced with the mixer yet (a Soundcraft MFXi8).

[​IMG]

Thanks! Your thoughts are appreciated.

:bassist:

2. DuraMorte

DuraMorte

So, you want your YouTube videos to come out of the main mix, but not come out of the main mix? Sounds impossible to me. Sorry.

3. MNAirHead

MNAirHead

4. uhdinator

uhdinator

You plug everything into the interface and the mixer is no longer needed.

5. Register to disable this ad
  6. derrico1

derrico1 Supporting Member

Isn't the two-track stereo in on that board separately assignable to the main mix and/or the monitor outputs?

One way:

1. Connect your powered monitors' input to the Soundcraft's L-R monitor outputs.

2. Using XLR to 1/4" adapters, connect Soundcraft's main mix L-R outs to your interface's L-R line ins.

3. Connect interface's 2-track line-ins.

If you want to hear sound from computer/interface in the monitors, engage the "To Monitor" button in the Soundcraft's 2-track i/o block. If you want to return output from the computer/sound card back to the soundcard's line inputs, engage the "To Mix" button in Soundcraft's 2-track i/o block. (Make sure that any record-enabled tracks are muted, or you'll treat yourself to some glorious feedback.)