How to shield a Mustang RI

Discussion in 'Pickups & Electronics [BG]' started by Winfred, Jan 31, 2013.

1. Winfred

Winfred

First: I am a complete novice at electronics. No skill, at all.

Okay, that's out of the way. :D

I have a mustang RI, about 5 years old. It buzzes when it's near my body. Doesn't buzz when I set it down away from me.

It doesn't buzz when I touch the strings, bridge, or tuning pegs.

• Rolling the tone knob off lessens the buzzing.
    • I have shielded the pickups and jack/knobs with copper plating inside the cavities of both. I got the copper plating from an older bass, and cut it to fit the cavities of the mustang.
    • No change.
    • I have tested the bass with different chords and amps. No change. I get the same buzz all the time.

So, what else can I do to get rid of the buzz? I don't want to get rid of the bass.

Thanks!

2. Cadfael

Cadfael

Have you also tested the bass in different rooms (different "fuse sytems") and different locations?

I you want to keep the bass - canabis or MUCH BETTER a relaxing training might be useful! Thne buzzing remainds but you don't mind ...

The Mustang RI should have (good) S. Duncan pickups ...
    Sh*t always happens - and I have heard of a Fender PU with mixed up cable colours! If your PU hums, maybe the cables have been mixed in Japan (but this is only 0.001% possibility!).

Tone knob works as it should.

A bass is supposed to produce sound - not silence! :smug:
    Is the buzzing still to hear when a guitar player has put his Overdrive on? :D

3. Winfred

Winfred

4. gunlak

gunlak

properly shielding the cavities is the answer. i'm pretty sure the continuity of the shielding is off at one point. check it with a multimeter or by trial and error.

5. Register to disable this ad
  6. astack

astack Supporting Member

Is all the shielding wired to a common ground, such that there's no voltage difference between any portion? The info in the jazz shielding tut sticky should still apply here.