How to slap the A string?

Discussion in 'Technique [BG]' started by cousinofmurloc, Mar 30, 2014.

1. cousinofmurloc

cousinofmurloc

Hey I've been playing for 3 months an I want to switch it up a little and play slap more. I can slap fine on the E string, but when I try to slap the A string I end up hitting the E string also. Do I need to practice my aim? Do I need to mute the other strings? How should I mute them? Thanks!

2. BioWeapon

BioWeapon

Mute by using your left hand index, fret the note with the other fingers. Or, you could practice often just striking the A string as cleanly as possible.

3. LakeEffect

LakeEffect Supporting Member

^ Both. And yes, it is purely a practice thing.

4. zeppfan90

zeppfan90

Yeah it's purely practice! I had the exact same problem for a while. just keep trying and one day you will magically find that you can do it all of a sudden! What I did was mute the E string with my thumb and just slapped the A string over and over and over. Started out slow with quarter notes then just built up the tempo. After that you can then start slapping the D string! =]

5. Register to disable this ad
  6. joedownunder

joedownunder Supporting Member

What angle do you hold your thumb? The only time I've had this problem is slapping the high e. Thumb parallel to the string helps

7. Steveman

Steveman

Exactly how do you slap the E-string? Do you "bounce" your thumb off of it (the Flea style) or do you go through it like you would with a pick (traditional slap-funk style).

8. cv115505

cv115505 Supporting Member

Disclosures:
    Lakland Basses | Hanson Guitars | Augustas Guitars | Paul & Mills Amplification
    left hand muting and just trying to keep your thumb as lateral as possible.

9. cousinofmurloc

cousinofmurloc

I do Flea style because that's how I always saw it done and it sounded good. I'm self taught lol.

10. cousinofmurloc

cousinofmurloc