1. Welcome to TalkBass, the Premier Bass Player Community and Information Source. We've been uniting the Low End Since 1998!

We're glad you've found us. Register a 100% Free Account to post and unlock tons of features.

How to tell which model Strunal?

Discussion in 'Basses [DB]' started by greenjoel, Dec 12, 2012.

1. greenjoel

greenjoel

Hi all, complete newbie here so I apologize if this has already been covered and/or I step on toes/break the rules - it is not intentional.

In any case, I've been keeping my eyes open for an affordable, entry-level UB for my girlfriend (she dreams of playing UB with some of our local musician friends; most likely bluegrass/alt country stuff).

I found a local female musician who is asking $900 (US) for a Strunal of unknown model...this girl is a highly-educated musician who (according to her) has been playing this bass and enjoying it.

I'm going to check it out tonight (hopefully) but, beyond just checking out basic stuff such as the integrity of the wood, etc I'm not really sure what to look for...I also have no way of knowing what model Strunal this bass is.

Does anyone have thoughts/input on what to look for, how much to offer, etc?

Any opinions, etc that you all throw in my direction will be appreciated - thanks!

2. Eric Hochberg

Eric Hochberg

For that price, it's probably laminated and may be a decent instrument and good buy. Look for a label inside the bass. Find out if it has an ebony fingerboard. Best thing to do is have it checked out by a bass luthier before buying so you will know if it needs repairs or adjustments. Many luthiers in Boston, Michael Hartrey comes to mind.

Read THIS

3. KUNGfuSHERIFF

KUNGfuSHERIFF

I've seen the ad. The photos are NOT helpful, but if it has an ebony fingerboard and a laminate body it is probably a 50/4. The 50/1 has a painted maple fingerboard, which I would avoid.