1. Welcome to TalkBass, the Premier Bass Player Community and Information Source. We've been uniting the Low End Since 1998!

We're glad you've found us. Register a 100% Free Account to post and unlock tons of features.

I am looking into buying studio monitors

Discussion in 'Recording Gear and Equipment [BG]' started by Road Bull, Jan 2, 2013.

1. Road Bull

Road Bull Supporting Member

So I have been looking at purchasing some studio monitors. up until now, the only speakers that I have had, have ben computer three-way speaker systems. Admittedly, I would not new doing too much serious recording, but would like to be able to learn as I am new to the field. I would also be using the monitors to listen to music and other computer related activities. I would like to be able to listen and play along with songs and whatnot.

Budget: ~$400 give or take, but not too much over.

Things I have been looking at: (all active monitors)

//sorry, I font have the specific middle numbers atm. I sm on my phone//

KRK Rokit line 8" size. I could get a pair of these for about $350.

Mackie 5" powered for ~$129 each.

And

Yamaha 5" for about ~$199 each.

So, I have had a chance to listen to most of these, albeit not all side by side. To my ears the mackie 5s sounded pretty good, and a but louder than the KRKs. The sales guy said that typically the Mackies run louder than the KRKs at the same input. The Yamahas were listened to on their own and this made it difficult to gauge them in relation to the others.

As far as getting a lot for my money, it would seem that the KRKs are the most discounted. But I keep hearing get the best you can afford.

Would anyone have some advice that they would want to lend?

Thanks in advance.

2. Biggbass

Biggbass Supporting Member