I can't move onstage!! Please HELP!

Discussion in 'Band Management [BG]' started by Laineye, Dec 16, 2013.

1. Laineye

Laineye

Hey bassists,

I have been playing bass for 6 years now, and have been in a rock/soul/ whatever-the-heck-we-want-to-play band for about 3 years. My singer is totally into performing, and the guitarist is a natural too, but I still find myself just standing there and playing. I still don't feel comfortable moving at all! I naturally hate being the center of attention, and it really doesn't help that I am the only girl with the awesome eye catching painted bass. I also love the songs we play.

I think the biggest part of my self consciousness is that my parents are always there watching my every move. I feel like I am constantly being patronized by how "cute" I am. I HATE IT! Yes i am happy to have caring parents but I am letting them hold me back from really feeling the music and performing. And they refuse to not show up. :meh:

This frozen style of playing has become who I am onstage, and frankly I am very embarrassed. I have a real complex going on here that has been tearing at myself and my creativity. How can I get past this?:help:

:atoz:

:bassist:

2. sm49341

sm49341

When I was younger I was a little this way. Then I evolved into a forced motion not to be boring, probably even worse. Now that I'm a seasoned vet, I just loose myself in the music and let it take over my movement. I'm 45 and certainly not into jumping around. Sometimes a toe tap, leg tap, or even a marchy step if the beat is right. Usually its a slight sway and twist to the music. Like you're dancing with the bass just a little. Its also eye contact and a general happy expression. Eye contact with your band mates, and with the crowd.