1. Welcome to TalkBass, the Premier Bass Player Community and Information Source. We've been uniting the Low End Since 1998!

We're glad you've found us. Register a 100% Free Account to post and unlock tons of features.

I got a douglas SPB 1100 for Christmas

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by badstonebass, Dec 31, 2013.

1. badstonebass

badstonebass

So since there seems to be little as far as reviews I thought it may be helpful to put one up.

A little history. I am not a "bassist", I started playing bass 10/15 years ago as I got a gig as "Gene" in a KISS trib. I don't consider myself a great bassist, I am certainly a far better guitarist. However I love to play bass and my main gig for the last 7 years or so has been bass in a popular local cover band gigging around 100 shows a year. So "real" bassists can take my review with a grain of salt.

[​IMG]

I got the bass as a gift from the wife. I wanted it because IMO it looked cool. It came with a case.

I have a Schecter Stiletto Custom, a Gene Simmons Punisher, and a Fender P/J. Compared to these basses it has a way more old school, woody sound. I like it. Maybe it is the fact that all my other basses are active but this thing sounds really different...not better or worse really but it certainly has more GRUNT as a description. I was afraid that the bass would feedback at show volume but I cranked it up and it is fine. The setup out of the box was adequate and I won't be tweaking it until I get a few gigs in. It for sure needs some NUT work once it settles. Strings seem ok so I will use them until they die.