I hate it when everyone plays "blame-the-bassist"

Discussion in 'Band Management [BG]' started by pinrar, Jan 22, 2013.

1. pinrar

pinrar

Well, when we botch a song, and no one knows what specifically went wrong, people tend to blame it on me. I'm a newbie, OK, but jeez I KNOW what I play!

I am usually a very calm person, and I know I have low self esteem on top of that, but at one of the rehearsals I totally flipped when the guitarist told me that I wasn't following the drummer. I told them there was no such no thing. (By "told" I mean "yelled in his face"). We had a huge fight and we booked a recording session the next week.

I was very frustrated and angry when I got there, but I played very nicely and he had to shut up. :cool:

I hate hate hate when someone tells me to add a fill somewhere when I'm already doing it. One time, I played through a song (Be Yourself - Audioslave) with half-step off tuning, and when the song was over, I started retuning. One of them asked why I was retuning... he didn't notice that I was off :eyebrow: I am not a quiet player, and we have a single guitar. I mean, how can you NOT notice the bass going half step higher in that song?! They are all great people, all good friends of mine, and they are good at their instruments; I just wish they actually listened to my playing before criticizing me.. /rant

Have you played with people like this? How long did you put up with them? Or are these normal incidents? What kind of attitude would help me sort things out?

2. hrodbert696

hrodbert696 Supporting Member

I don't have much to say about the overall situation, but I've got to say this sentence caught my eye.

3. Downunderwonder

Downunderwonder

A coherent nonnsensical sentence in the middle of a rant doesn't warrant analysis.

The whole situation can be summed up as:

Guitards, can live without them.

4. pinrar

pinrar

Sorry for not being clear, English isn't my native language and I was... ranting.