I have plateau'ed and need help

Discussion in 'Technique [BG]' started by ajp1991105, Apr 14, 2014.

1. ajp1991105

ajp1991105

Hello,

Let me first start by saying that I have been playing for many years and have tried my best to cover a wide variety of styles and techniques in that time. I have been taking private lessons for 10+ years and was even accepted into the Berklee College of Music (too poor to go).

Some more background on my playing style. I would venture to say that I am quite proficient using 1, 2, 3, and 4, fingers on my right hand in both straight (4321) and alternating styles (such as 12131413). I play 6 string basses in both traditional and dropped tunings. I can play many different chords, inversions, and variations of the chordings. I can also "sweep pick" rake style with both hands.

For maybe the last 6 months to year I feel like no matter how much I play, practice, or try to learn new things, I feel like I have not been able to make any measurable progress.

I was just wondering if anybody had any ideas about how to overcome this stage in my playing or where to try to look for inspiration in relation to both technique and creativity.

PS. Sorry if this post is a bit ramble-y, I'm just trying to find the words to express my thoughts on my issues of late.

2. OldDirtyBassist

OldDirtyBassist

Go back to square one, and play with your treble up all the way on your bass and amp. Try to make it sound clean.

3. BassMoley

BassMoley

I just got Alex Webster's book Extreme Metal Bass a few days ago and it's pretty good. You can do a lot of things he explains in the book but maybe take a look at it, you might draw something out of it. Alex Webster is the bassist for death metal band Cannibal Corpse if you don't know. Even if that's not really your music I'd recommend giving it a shot.

4. MrDOS

MrDOS Gold Supporting Member

Your description talks about technique, but not music.