1. Welcome to TalkBass, the Premier Bass Player Community and Information Source. We've been uniting the Low End Since 1998!

We're glad you've found us. Register a 100% Free Account to post and unlock tons of features.

I just don't get "slapping".

Discussion in 'Rockabilly [DB]' started by OmNomNom, Jul 4, 2012.

1. OmNomNom

OmNomNom Supporting Member

I am pretty new to double bass.. pizz comes naturally and I am a jazz player on bass guitar, so most of the time I am inclined to that method. I have grown an interest in the slap technique thanks to guys like Joe Fick. I really just don't understand what is done! Every description I see for a basic slap mentions just pulling the string back and releasing to get the slap, but every time I do this it sounds like complete chaotic crap.. it's more of a volatile cluttering vibration, like when one's finger slips off of a string on BG. Anyone have any ideas? It seems every video is looking head-on to the player, too, as opposed to a vertical perspective from the player.

I'm sorry if this is covered in any stickies, by the way.

2. John Crosley

John Crosley

I found the Lee Rocker video, but it still shows pretty much face on. There used to be a series that showed a 'down the fingerboard angle so you could see the form of the right hand better, but I can't find them now.

3. PaulKing

PaulKing

You should concentrate first on achieving the slap between plucks, rather than the snap-back click. So pluck a note then slap your palm back down over the strings.

Doing this once or twice between notes gives you that essential rockabilly boom-chicka-boom-chicka sound.

As you get better at it, you'll be able to add the extra click you get from pulling the string out and letting it snap back against the board (like a bass guitar pop).

But perhaps more essential is that you have appropriate strings and set up for slap.