1. Welcome to TalkBass 2014! If you're new here, we just went through a major site upgrade. Please post all concerns and bugs to the Forum Usage Issues forum. We will be monitoring that forum. Thank you for all of your feedback.

The TalkBass iphone/android app is NOT WORKING currently. We're working on it. Tapatalk IS working, so if you need to use an app, use Tapatalk. Try using your browser though - TalkBass is now 100% responsive to your phone/tablet screen size ;)

Please read the TalkBass 2014 FAQ for lots of great info on the new software.

I just...suck.

Discussion in 'Technique [BG]' started by BassPlayer95, Dec 1, 2012.

1. BassPlayer95

BassPlayer95

Here's the deal guys, I've been playing bass for about 3 years now. I play every day for anywhere from 10 minutes to an hour and a half. I love music, and I absolutely love bass. I'm just not getting any better. Sure, I'm better than I was day one, but it seems like after about a year, my progession of my skills just stopped. I don't really play all that intricate stuff, just punk-pop and a few different styles of metal, so I shouldn't be struggling. I mean, maybe I am decent and it's just lack of confidence, or maybe, I actually suck. I also wonder if maybe my gear is holding me back. I'm currently on a crappy Dean bass, and a 15 watt amp. I was pretty much forbidden to ask for a bass for christmas because my mom said I have to be more practical. So that's out. Maybe when the new year comes around, I'll (hopefully) get a job. Anyway, some questions:

1. I don't think my technique is terrible, but I can't seem to get my pinkie up on the fret board.

2. My hand cramps a lot when fretting notes. Especially down in the lower region of the fret board.

3. I'd like to, in the future join/start a band, but I'm worried I'm terrible. ANY and ALL tips on how to be a better player would be TOTALLY welcome!!!

Thanks for reading this horribly long post!!!!
  2. oldcatfish

oldcatfish