I need exercises to connect the scales and arpeggios across the fingerboard.

Discussion in 'Jazz Technique [DB]' started by fivaras, Nov 27, 2013.

1. fivaras

fivaras

Hello everyone. I am new to the instrument and i have been practising without a teacher (i only took a couple of lessons just to get the proper left hand technique). Lately i have been studying scales in the lower positions and scales in one string. I was wondering whether you could give some advice on how to proceed to the scales and arpeggios in the upper positions (not thumb position, at least not yet!) so i can connect them with the lower ones and introduce them to my playing. I can say it is quite intimidating, especially due to the intonation issues. Any exercises, fingering patterns etc?
    Thanks
  2. bassist1962

bassist1962

3. Ed Fuqua

Ed Fuqua

Media:
    Albums:
    Disclosures:
    Chuck Sher publishes my book, WALKING BASSICS:The Fundamentals of Jazz Bass Playing.
    I'd suggest start doing scales in two octaves; major, natural, harmonic and melodic minor. I haven't looked at your profile, but since you're posting on the double bass side of the board, I'm going to make the assumption that you're playing double bass. Thumb position is another thing altogether, it's going to take more than a couple of lessons to "get the proper left hand technique". You can do this stuff the hard way or the easy way, I'm not sure why you don't want to take as much advantage of the easy way and work with somebody who has been through all of this before. As one who had to spend a LOT of time trying to unlearn bad, ingrained habits so that I could progress past the brick wall I hit, easier is better than harder.

How are you practicing arpeggios now?
  4. bassist1962

bassist1962

5. Register to disable this ad
  6. neal davis

neal davis