1. Welcome to TalkBass, the Premier Bass Player Community and Information Source. We've been uniting the Low End Since 1998!

We're glad you've found us. Register a 100% Free Account to post and unlock tons of features.

I NEED HELP!!!

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by Sigying, Nov 15, 2012.

1. Sigying

Sigying

So I started bass lessons in April this year because it's always been my dream to be in a band, and I saw it as a gateway in to the music scene and as another option over having to do science.
    Over the months I've basically fallen in love with my bass and with metalcore, gothic metalcore, post-hardcore ect... music. Plus I know some of my friends who also listen to similar stuff want to start a band in the near future. I just found out I've been accepted into VET music next year and I'm excited, but also worried.
    So far I'm just getting into the stage of being able to switch strings (not really well though :/ ) and tremolo pick (really fast), but I know it's not enough to be that great for next year. It's been two months since I taught myself a song (Creatures - Motionless In White) with no aide from anyone. And now I've just hit a blank spot, I can't do anything, even some of the simpler metalcore songs I still can't play, and I'm just worried that I'm going to fail.
    Does anyone know any good practice songs that will help me play the music I hope to play in the future?

2. soulman969

soulman969

Take some lessons brother. It will get you where you want to go much faster especially if you hope to be playing in a band soon.

In order to work songs out you have to have some understanding of how they're constructed or in other words some very basic musical theory and "ear training".