1. Welcome to TalkBass 2014! If you're new here, we just went through a major site upgrade. Please post all concerns and bugs to the Forum Usage Issues forum. We will be monitoring that forum. Thank you for all of your feedback.

The TalkBass iphone/android app is NOT WORKING currently. We're working on it. Tapatalk IS working, so if you need to use an app, use Tapatalk. Try using your browser though - TalkBass is now 100% responsive to your phone/tablet screen size ;)

Please read the TalkBass 2014 FAQ for lots of great info on the new software.

I need your help..

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by jimispier, Feb 16, 2014.

1. jimispier

jimispier

I have purchased tons of 6 strings guitars (non-basses) but this is my first time buying a bass and I am in need of assistance.

I am trying to decide between the ESP LTD F-155dx:
    http://www.guitarcenter.com/ESP-LTD-F-155DX-5-String-Bass-Guitar-109705202-i1396594.gc

and the Jackson JS3V
    http://www.guitarcenter.com/Jackson-JS3V-Concert-5-String-Electric-Bass-Guitar-107470627-i2034747.gc

I have a few days before I have to pull the trigger on this and I want to make sure I get the most bang for my buck as well as not have any issues down the road.

Thank you very much!
    Jimi
  2. JonDark

JonDark

3. JennySuzuki

JennySuzuki

ESP/LTD make good basses for the money. If you're coming over from treble-land, you might think about a short scale bass to start with, though... they ease the transition a bit.
  4. jimispier

jimispier

That is something I am concerned about too. I have medium sized hands and I want to make sure that the neck radius isn't going to prohibit me from getting to all the notes/strings.
  5. JennySuzuki

JennySuzuki

I have girly hands, and haven't any problem playing even five string guitars. Don't sweat the radius. But some are more comfortable than others, and again, I'd suggest trying a couple of short scale basses... maybe the Epiphone EB0, or the Gretsch Junior Jet.
  6. TolerancEJ