I want to play this kind of music, input please :)

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by amidjang, Jan 21, 2013.

1. amidjang

amidjang

Hey there, new member here. I've been playing bass since 10 years ago casually, off most of the time. Honestly, I don't really take the bass seriously (until now.) Skill-wise, I played in regular rock and punk band, I pretty much only play the root note and no shame on that.

Recently, my GF introduced me to this kind of music and this Japanese band, and I fell in love with it! Maybe because I got older (now 35+), my preference of music has changed. For me this type of music challenge me to pick up my rusty bass and play again.

What I like about this:
    1. Sweet sweet tone and deep into the soul.
    2. It's like freestyle playing, they never play 1 bar with same variations, though the progression is still the same.
    3. The bass line is singing. That's what I realized when comparing this to my old stuff.
    4. If you listen carefully, the drum and the bass is in sync.. I've never really care about that until now that I realize the impact it produces.

Here's the sample:
    (FYI this band has both "groovy" and "mellow" section on their list) You might need headphones as these are older tunes from early 2000.
    Groovy:

And my question would be:
    1. Is this band considered as jazz? What's the sub-genre of this jazz type of music?
    2. What's the most important technique, or knowledge to be able to play this kind of groove?
    3. What makes that transition and change of chord so sweet.. is that the voice leading?
    4. What kind of bass do you think is good for this genre (currently using a 1990 Fender P-Bass)
    5. If I were to find a teacher, what kind of teacher should I get to master this kind of genre?

And yes, I'm going to pick up my bass again. The fire is burning from inside my heart, I'm pretty much amazed of how bass can be so sweet (maybe because I'm in love lol.)