1. Welcome to TalkBass, the Premier Bass Player Community and Information Source. We've been uniting the Low End Since 1998!

We're glad you've found us. Register a 100% Free Account to post and unlock tons of features.

Ibanez BTB675 Vs. Yamaha TRBX505

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by Robinanimate, Mar 20, 2014.

1. Robinanimate

Robinanimate

I am a longtime guitarist/bass newb who is planning the purchase of my first 5 string bass. I would like a versatile bass that can handle everything from classic rock to extreme metal. According to my funds and availability where I live, I have narrowed it down to the following choices:

http://www.gear4music.no/no/Gitar-and-Bass/Ibanez-BTB675-5-strengers-bassgitar-Nat/8RQ

http://www.gear4music.no/no/Gitar-a...s-Bass-gitar-gjennomsiktig-svart/QU0#full-des

As a third underdog option I have also considered this:

http://www.gear4music.no/no/Gitar-a...-T25-Bass-gitar-naturlig-mahogni/CRA#full-des

What would you guys reccomend, and what are the pros and cons for these three basses?

2. Draculea

Draculea

For versatility I would go with either Yamaha or Ibanez. Those two models are pretty good, but in the end it comes to personal taste and preference since they're different beasts. The Ibanez BTB, however, has a 35 inch scale, which allows for the B string to have a more defined sound. The TRBX has a nice B string as well, considering it's got a 34 inch scale length.

Bottom line is IMO, choose what you like. I personally like both, but if I had to mention a flaw, it would be in regards to Ibanez with the unfinished fret ends sticking out from the sides of the fretboard, I've seen this in Ibanez basses I have tried and /or owned, especially Indonesian ones. Hope this helps a bit.

3. LostInSauce

LostInSauce