Ibanez GSR 180 vs Ibanez GSR 200???

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by n1andJ, Mar 5, 2014.

1. n1andJ

n1andJ

Hi guys, newbie here. Im quite confuse on what to avail since Im looking for a bass which suites my budget and I found this two. Can you help me, for those who have an of this, define the strengths and weaknesses of the two? which one is better? Thanks!!!:help:
  2. Immigrant

Immigrant

Welcome to Talkbass!

There are very few differences between those two models. I'd go with the 200. It's a fine starter bass, and Ibanez's numbering system for their models dictate the higher the number within the same model line, usually the better the bass.

You'll have fun with either, moreso with the 200.
  3. MyMusic

MyMusic

I agree. The GSR200 is a really nice bass to start out with if you are on a limited budget. I started out with one and still have it. Once you get the bass, have it adjusted by a guitar tech and put some new strings on it and it will do a nice job for you.
  4. sharkbait130

sharkbait130

If I'm not mistaken , the 180 is a single PU and the 200 is a double PU so you will have a little more versatility with the 200. I AM sure about the 200 cause I'm looking at mine right now. It was my gigging bass for a while and is a faithfull backup as we speak. I still use it for rehearsals sometimes cause it's a couple pounds lighter than my P Bass.
  5. Register to disable this ad
  6. n1andJ

n1andJ

I thought so.

I think the 180 has 2 PU, and by the looks of it, i think that it is a jazz bass unlike the 200 which has a P/J set up. Am I right about this? :hyper:
  7. danomite64

danomite64 Supporting Member

I'd get the 180. It's passive, so it doesn't need a battery, and the pickups should be hum cancelling when both are on. As hassle-free as the 200 is, this one's a bit more hassle-free.
  8. n1andJ

n1andJ

So you mean that the 180 has a humbucker pick-up, am i right?
  9. MyMusic

MyMusic