Ibanez SR 500 or 600

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by Steve S, Nov 25, 2012.

1. Steve S

Steve S

I've been playing Fender style basses for 30 years and am looking for something lighter. I find that my old basses have become too heavy for me to play for hours.

I've looked at the Ibanez SR basses and they seem like something that I'd like to try. The 500 and 600 series. What are people's thoughts about these and your preference?

2. IngerAlb

IngerAlb

The 600 is lighter, but I prefer the 500 tonewise - it has more bite & growl to it, while the 600 has a mellower & warmer bassy tone with a wooly bottom. The 500 stands out in the mix, while the 600 blends better between drums and guitars. Both sound modern though.

3. purfektstranger

purfektstranger

I owned an ibanez SR 600 with the Bart pickups and preamp. Great playing and sounding bass and can be purchased used for a lot less money than buying new. I ended up selling it because I found the body too small. I have always been a p or jazz bass guy and the body on the ibanez is small in comparison. That said the bass weighed nothing and the tones were plentiful. All in all great value for money.

4. atomicdog

atomicdog Supporting Member

I have an SR750 with Barts. Well worth checking out. It can take a while to get used to an active bass, but once you di it's pretty sweet tonewise. Of course, the light weight and slim, fast neck are a real plus.

5. Register to disable this ad
  6. scottfeldstein

scottfeldstein Supporting Member

I have the 505. Didn't see much value in going up a model number.

7. Steve S

Steve S

Great responses. I've never had an active bass so I'm looking forward to playing one.

8. scottfeldstein

Is the 500 (or my 505) consider "active"? It's got passive pickups, but an active EQ (cut and boost) which takes a 9v battery.

When talking about the pickups specifically, they're passive. But when discussing the bass as a whole do you call it "active" or "passive"?

9. kleinenenten