Ibanez SR300 won't stay in tune ????

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by Davyo, Apr 6, 2014.

1. Davyo

Davyo Davyo Supporting Member

Just bought a new SR300 from GC about 4 weeks ago and this bass will not stay in tune for more than 3 or 4 songs (not good during live gigging)

I do the BEAD tuning as I do with ALL my bass's but that shouldn't matter,,, I've been doing the BEAD thing for over 20 years and have never had a problem with staying in tune ever with any other bass.

I've tried different strings, already took it to my repair guy and he did a neck adjust and tightened down the tuners but the bass still will not stay in tune.

So I'm guessing I'm going to have to put new tuners on my new bass that is now past the 30 day GC return window,,,,, unless anyone has any better ideas what the problem could be.

Are the SR300's known to be bad or good with staying in tune ?

Thanks in advance for any input.

Cheers
    Davyo

2. T-Bird

T-Bird

Hi Davyo.

Not the same bass, but my 80's SR800 does stay in tune with both EADG and BEAD tunings.

Sure, the neck is flexible and did require some getting used to, but it doesn't go out of tune permanently.

A sticky nut would be IME the first to check, I used to have odd tuning problems before switching to GraphTech and metals back in the day.

Regards
    Sam

3. Davyo

A sticky nut I shall check for,,,,, I hadn't really thought about that so thanks Sam.

Perhaps a bit more file'ing of the nut is needed to accommodate the BEAD strings,,,,, I've never had a nut issue with all my other bass's I've modded for my BEAD strings/tuning before but this could be a first.

Cheers
    Davyo

4. Sundogue

Sundogue Supporting Member

I have an SR400 that does not stay in tune. It's not terrible, but enough to feel I have to check it often.

It was worse when it was tuned EADG, but seems to hold the tuning longer tuned BEAD (which is where I keep it now).