1. Welcome to TalkBass, the Premier Bass Player Community and Information Source. We've been uniting the Low End Since 1998!

We're glad you've found us. Register a 100% Free Account to post and unlock tons of features.

Ibanez SR506 vs. BTB676

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by bassEnthusiast1, Oct 9, 2010.

1. bassEnthusiast1

bassEnthusiast1

Hi all,

You've probably heard this one a million times before, but as the title suggests, I am caught up between buying two basses, namely the Ibanez SR506 (2010 model) and the Ibanez BTB676

Now I have seen about two or three other threads about people with similar issues, but I still felt that I could extract more user information about these two basses if I created another thread, which I did.

I play mainly progressive/alternative/hard rock even punk, jazz and funk, although I do sometimes play some technical metal and some John Myung-type stuff.

This will be my first sixer, and I've been playing bass for about 18 months now (guitar for 4 years, piano for 10). The reason I wanna swtich to 6 is because I feel my current bass (Ibanez SR400) is limited, and I can't get the tones I want out of it. I DO NOT WANT THIS TO HAPPEN WITH MY NEXT BASS, SO PLEASE TAKE THIS INTO CONSIDERATION.

Both of them are very good basses, based on user reviews and specs, but the BTB is clearly the better one, on paper. In case you're unfamiliar, here are the specs (SR506 then BTB 676):

54mm width at nut vs. 54mm width at nut
    83mm width at last fret vs. 88mm width a last fret
    16.5mm string spacing vs. 17mm string spacing
    34" scale vs, 35" scale
    24 frets vs. 24 frets
    Bartolini MK-1 pick-ups vs. Bartolini MK-2 pick-ups
    3-band active EQ w/Mid-selector switch (9 volt) vs. 3-band active EQ (18 volt)
    Jatoba/Bubinga Neck vs. Maple/Bubinga Neck
    Bolt-on construction vs. Neck-thru construction
    Rosewood fingerboard vs. Rosewood fingerboard
    Mahogany body vs. Light Ash w/Walnut top body