Ibanez SR706 vs. Yamaha TRB 6 II

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by hgiles, Nov 15, 2012.

1. hgiles

hgiles

I have been playing bass less than a month. But I play saxophone and piano already and have a degree in music theory, so I am not a musical beginner, just a beginner to bass playing.

I picked up an (post 2008 model) Ibanez SR706 and am really enjoying learning bass! It's made in Indonesia, but a nice playing bass in great condition.

I was wondering if an older Japanese made TRB 6 II (ebay) would be considered an upgrade? I do tend to like the balanced Japanese approach in manufacturing and engineering -- cars, saxes, electronics.

I really like the Ibanez, but have noticed an appreciation for things made in Japan, Western Europe, and USA.

Would I (beginner player) feel a difference between the two? Is there any upgrade available in anything that would cost me less than $1000?

[​IMG]
  2. eee

eee

Oh yeah, the Yammie would be better fo sho
  3. Dr. Cheese

Dr. Cheese Supporting Member

I much prefer the string spacing and neck profile of the Yamaha.
  4. hgiles

hgiles

Wow. Thanks for the responses, eee, and Dr. Cheese! I was afraid you'd say that. I do like the Ibby though and thought since it was almost new, would have some of the latest design features that the TRB 6 wouldn't have. You got me thinking now.
  5. Register to disable this ad
  6. Wallace320

Wallace320

A MIJ Yamaha TRB6 would sport a neckthru body, monorail bridge saddles encompassing a piezo pickup below them

For new it would cost 2,5 X MII Ibanez SR706 streetprice.

But check its state of maintenance out: these are very precious instruments, so they're worth a deep insight...

Cheers,
    Wallace
  7. hgiles

hgiles