If you like the sound of your amp but want more power do you...

Discussion in 'Amps [BG]' started by prater, Jan 6, 2014.


  1. prater

    prater Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2011
    Upgrade the amp to a higher power version of the same amp

    or

    Run it through a power amp.

    I run a GK 400 RB IV and can anticipate the day when I'll want more power. I always just figured I'd through a power amp in the rack but now thinking about the GK growl which comes more from the power amp circuit than the preamp circuit I'm reconsidering.

    This is of course entirely hypothetical, as of now I'm completely satisfied with my rig.
  2. Grissle

    Grissle Supporting Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2009
    You could run a speaker level DI (from the amp speaker jack, through the DI, then to the cab) then into a power amp.
  3. orangejulius3

    orangejulius3 Supporting Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2013
    Location:
    La Habra CA
    I felt the same way when I was playing outside for the city and fairs, I just picked up the 800RB and really came through for me.

    Also, using the 400RB on a 112, then going to a 412 cab made the difference in volume!
  4. Downunderwonder

    Downunderwonder

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2009
    Location:
    New Zealand
    Mic it and put it in the PA, probably turn down quite a bit too.

    Or add another cab and turn up.
  5. Register to disable this ad
  6. RickenBoogie

    RickenBoogie

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2007
    Location:
    Dallas, TX
    The OP does not mention spkr cabs, which are key to getting volume. More power through the same small cab will not get more volume, where a bigger/better cab with the same amp will.
  7. Slowgypsy

    Slowgypsy 4 Fretless Strings Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2006
    Location:
    NY & MA
    What cab(s) are you using? Adding another cab is generally more efficient at getting more headroom (power) than getting an amp with more watts.
  8. Bass_Pounder

    Bass_Pounder

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2002
    Location:
    Palm Coast, Florida
    This !
  9. RustyAxe

    RustyAxe Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2008
    Location:
    Connecticut
    This is spot on. One might think that going from 400w to 800w would double your volume but that's not how it works. Add more speaker area and you'll see the difference. Just adding another cab to make a 4 ohm system increases the amps output by 64% ... not to mention the increased speaker area.
  10. B-string

    B-string Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2008
    Location:
    Lake Havasu City, Az USA
    Looking at the OP's profile he is already running a 4 ohm load. Since you have custom cabs, build identical cabs and slave a second 400RB IV from your first unit. Or use different cabs that will use the existing power more efficiently.
  11. BassmanPaul

    BassmanPaul Gold Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2007
    Location:
    Toronto Ontario Canada
    +101 Rick isn't as thick as I look!! :D
  12. BassmanPaul

    BassmanPaul Gold Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2007
    Location:
    Toronto Ontario Canada
    Thanks Jon, you saved me a bunch of typing! :)
  13. BassmanPaul

    BassmanPaul Gold Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2007
    Location:
    Toronto Ontario Canada
    The problem with cobbling a system together to use every last watt of amplifier power is that when, and if, you need more there is nowhere for you to go.,

Share This Page