1. Welcome to TalkBass, the Premier Bass Player Community and Information Source. We've been uniting the Low End Since 1998!

We're glad you've found us. Register a 100% Free Account to post and unlock tons of features.

I'm a beginner and I need opinions

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by classicrockjan, Dec 14, 2013.

1. classicrockjan

classicrockjan

I'm a beginner and Free Fallin' is the first song I have learned. Nobody in my family or circle of friends have an ear for music, so I don't quite know how I'm doing. It sounds off to me, but I would like a second opinion if you can please take the time to provide one.

https://soundcloud.com/lisa-marie-308/sets/cover-1

2. LazyGecko

LazyGecko

What you new to do is make sure you are in tune. Then if it still sounds bad you might actually be closer to the right note than you think so try to move up or down a fret or two for each note you play until it sounds right. Hope that helps. If it doesn't then post another audio file with your progress

3. LazyGecko

LazyGecko

Now if by any chance you have no idea what you're doing then at least learn the names of the notes on the fretboard then find the chords online and play the roots of those chords (the first letter in the chord's name) to get an idea of how it should sound and you can go from there

4. classicrockjan

classicrockjan

I'm tuned to 440 and the tuner says each string is right. I'm playing exactly what this guy instructed, but as you can tell it doesn't sound the same. I don't get it. My amp is low quality, but I don't know if that contributes much?

http://youtu.be/bE2_JfkEjBM

5. Register to disable this ad
  6. LazyGecko

LazyGecko

You might need to check your tuning again make sure the notes are tuned E, A, D, G in order form lowest sounding string to highest. And I would suggest looking up tabs as well

7. hrodbert696

hrodbert696 Supporting Member

+1.

8. fearceol

fearceol