1. Welcome to TalkBass, the Premier Bass Player Community and Information Source. We've been uniting the Low End Since 1998!

We're glad you've found us. Register a 100% Free Account to post and unlock tons of features.

I'm a one string bassist

Discussion in 'Technique [BG]' started by lolomgbass4lyfe, Jan 14, 2013.

1. lolomgbass4lyfe

lolomgbass4lyfe

I'm really into punk rock and metal and have been a vocalist for quite some time. I recently picked up bass. I've been playing by ear and getting pretty good. I'm getting ready to start a band with a friend of mine who plays guitar. But when I started, I didn't know that you were supposed to move over to other strings and thought it was okay to just stay on a single string at a time. I found out after playing for a friend who had been playing a bit longer than me. He asked me why I was only playing the E string. Personally, I think it doesn't matter. It sounds just as good and could totally hold the rhythm together. But I feel like the snobby bass player elite wouldn't accept me, and I know I should ignore them, but I find that I can't. Please let me know if you think this is okay, and if you do it too I'd also like to know. Thanks!

2. henry2513

henry2513 Supporting Member

If what you are playing fulfills the need of the music then who cares, if the music doesn't suffer from it then what's the problem with it?

3. lolomgbass4lyfe

lolomgbass4lyfe

That's exactly it. I don't know. It bugs me that people are bothered with it because it's not like I'm picking up the bass and like hitting the lower strings up and down and making noise. It makes me self-conscious about my playing.

4. Nashrakh

Nashrakh

If it ain't broken, don't fix it. However I would strongly advise to learn string shifts so it becomes a style choice and not an unconcious limit on your own playing.

5. Register to disable this ad
  6. Tupac

Tupac