I'm new to bass, recommendations?

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by SiriusXMOctane, Jan 13, 2014.

1. SiriusXMOctane

SiriusXMOctane

I just started playing bass, and I wanted a versatile, good quality instrument that won't empty my wallet. Anything you guys can recommend?
  2. tleebassist11

tleebassist11 Taylor Lee Supporting Member

Disclosures:
    Endorsing: Epifani
    Ibanez are great for the price. And so are the Carvin Sb series
  3. Hapa

Hapa

Disclosures:
    Bass Industry guy, currently a free agent
    Give us a little more criteria

Ibanez does make some of the best for the money basses that are found easily. Are there music stores in your area? I always recommend trying to support local even if it is GC. But in these days of internet retail market, we can confuse you easily. There are literally hundreds of brands to chose from.

Keep in mind that you still need an amp, cables, tuner, a music stand, guitar stand, a case or gig bag, a book and or lessons, and perhaps headphones.

All that long being said. The Squier bass packs have every thing you need, they are around $300. You can easily buy separate bass, amp, cable, etc it will cost more but you have more choices and in general gear that will last you longer. The little starter amps are getting better and better, but you will grow out of it quick IF you stick with it.

Welcome to talkbass and to the bass guitar in general :)
  4. Mjinsk

Mjinsk

I would recommend most of the Yamaha and Ibanez basses.
  5. Register to disable this ad
  6. SiriusXMOctane

SiriusXMOctane

The closest Guitar Center is in Atlanta, which is about 2 hours from me. There are local shops, but none can give me the versatility I'm looking for. I was thinking one of the S.U.B. Ray4 or 5, maybe.
  7. DwaynieAD

DwaynieAD

VM squier Jazz or Precision.
  8. stonewall

stonewall Supporting Member

I recomend driving to a music store and trying out whatever ones fit your budget.
  9. groooooove

groooooove

yah.